Work in progress

I’ve knitted without a pattern before, but now, I’m taking a different sort of plunge: I’m attempting to write a pattern of my own.

And you know what? It’s fun. I mean, sitting on the floor of Lydia’s fort, coloring in my sketches with her crayons and dreaming about beautiful blankets, with rippling, gradient colors…

I’m finding, though, that it’s pretty easy to get carried away. Coloring with crayons is one thing: casting on stitches and turning those sketches into live fabric is another, and I may have gotten in over my head. What started out as a “simple” patchwork baby blanket now uses a tote bag full of yarn and calls for more finishing than I had planned, but oh well! I am very much enjoying myself.

When the pattern is all done, I’ll post it here for you. And if you decide to use it, I will be one happy, happy camper.

Leave a Reply

