Thank you! And you, and you, and you…

To everyone who voted for the What’s Up! Awards (at my shameless prompting and otherwise), thank you! As it turns out, I actually won the Best Axes of Folk award, which still makes my heart go all fluttery whenever I think about it. The award itself is an old album, decorated beautifully by a stencil of Aaron Brick‘s, and it’s sitting on my dining room table right now, with my name on it. Holy smokes.

The award show itself was loud, hectic and fun. Though I suspect we took off before things really revved up, we made it count while we were there: we visited with people we hadn’t seen in ages, watched some awesome bands (The Braille Tapes!) rock the Nightlight, and thought up creative ways to use my drink tickets (cranberry juice!). Because I presented a few awards jointly with Bug Jerome, I actually got to say “And the winner is…” into a live microphone. It was surprisingly gratifying.

Thank you, thank you, and thank you again.

3 thoughts on “Thank you! And you, and you, and you…

Leave a Reply

