Pregnesia

I seem to have entered a certain realm of pregnancy that leaves me horribly…uncertain…about pretty much…everything I do. Because I have this sneaking suspicion that I’m supposed to be doing something else. But I cannot for the life of me remember what.

Mercifully, I haven’t screwed anything up too badly, though I did miss a doctor’s appointment last week – which made me feel rotten enough to, ahem, cry a little bit – but at least I haven’t left the stove on or mortally offended anyone dear to me by standing them up at a crucial moment (though my dad did have a dream last week that I ditched him for some friend named Joanne. Because I was thoroughly unrepentant in the dream, he announced, in the dream, “That’s it! It’s over between us!” When he told me about the dream, in real life, I gasped, “You broke up with me? You can do that?”).

Still, I have this awful feeling that I was supposed to be doing something tonight besides reading and composing beautiful butcheries of Christmas carols on my guitar.

I suppose I’ll find out soon enough if I’m right, won’t I?

In other news, this weekend we hit Four Months, which puts us awfully close to Four-and-a-Half Months, which is quite alarmingly close to the Halfway Point. There seems to be no appropriate response to this except to throw one’s hands in the air and yell, “Ah!” a lot, in a delighted, terrified and slightly manic way.

5 thoughts on “Pregnesia

  1. Rebecca

    That midway point is such a big deal! Pregnancy suddenly becomes very REAL.
    (and I wandered around in a big haze during all three pregnancies, so I think you’re doing really well.)

    Reply
  2. maylynn

    Yes. I remember the day during my second pregnancy when I got a speeding ticket in a school zone and just wanted to cry and beg the officer to let me go because I was eight months pregnant and had put hair product on my face that morning.

    I learned to rely on to-do lists, and still do.

    Reply
  3. Katie

    OMG!!!!!! i’m so glad you posted on our blog because this is the most exciting news ever!!!!!! congrats you guys.

    hey, we’re going to be in b’ham next week. will the two of you be around on thursday through sunday? maybe we could get together?????? i would be SOOOOOO good to see you two, especially with your big news! i can’t believe it!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

