Had I been a boy, you might know me as:

  • Stirling
  • Tristan
  • Kirkpatrick
  • Abdul (I’m not sure I could ever, in any gender, pull off being an Abdul)
  • Slade
  • Ace
  • Biff (seriously?)

Recently my mom stopped by with a couple of baby name books that my parents used while naming both my brother (Ross Myran) and me. My favorite part so far? The lists of potential names that both parents filled out in the front and back of the book.

There were other, more reasonable options listed (like Jared, Adrian or Bryan), but I picked my favorites – the bullets I mercifully dodged – to share with you, though I suspect that, because all the oddest ones are in my dad’s handwriting, most of them are probably a joke (take “Otis Media,” for example, or “Urethra May Puff”). Also, I’m not sure which ones were intended for my brother and which for me.

Some other girl names that were up for consideration? Meredith, Ivy, Beth, Celeste, Hiliary and Rose.

Just think – I could have been Rose Rosenburg!

4 thoughts on “Had I been a boy, you might know me as:

  1. sarahintheskywith

    You got me wondering…and so I asked my mother. Turns out I would have been a Nathan Thomas. How very droll. :p

    Reply
  2. Veronica Mitchell

    Urethra May Puff? Oh, I laughed.

    My father and husband took turns suggesting obscure historical people with awful names. I am not naming a baby Oeccolampadius.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

