An exchange at the Starbuck’s drive-thru

Barista: Welcome to Starbucks, how may I help you?

My mom: I’d like a tall hot chocolate and a double tall nonfat decaf Marble Mocha Macchiatto.

Barista: Okay! So I’ve got a double tall nonfat decaf Marble Mocha Macchiatto. Is that all for you today?

Mom: …and a tall hot chocolate as well.

Barista: Right! A tall hot chocolate and a double tall nonfat Marble Mocha Macchiatto?

Mom: Is that “decaf”? I’d like the Macchiatto decaf, please.

Barista: No problem! So that’s a tall hot chocolate and a grande nonfat extra hot Caramel Macchiatto. Anything else for you today?

Thea: collapses in fits of laughter.

Mom (accepting defeat): No thank you, that’ll be all.

3 thoughts on “An exchange at the Starbuck’s drive-thru

  1. Théa Post author

    I asked the same thing, and my mom went to all the trouble of describing what basically sounds like a mocha, upside down (milk, then espresso, then chocolate drizzled over top), before I gleefully pointed out that, sadly, she didn’t get to have one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

