My new favorite cookies

I know they sound weird and gross, but trust me: they’re amazing. (I wish I could say that I don’t say that lightly, but I do: I say that all the time. Recently, I’ve said this about avgolemeno soup, that song by 16 Horsepower (the one with the concertina), concertinas in general, the Temple Bar’s house wine, and Jonathan Safran Foer.)

But, without further ado, I give you:

EARL GREY TEA COOKIES

In a food processor (or mixer) combine:

  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 3 T light brown sugar
  • 2 T granulated sugar
  • a scant 1/4 t kosher salt
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 4 t finely ground Earl Grey tea (cut open 4 tea bags and extract tea; or use loose tea; grind it to a powder in a blender or clean coffee grinder)

Process to a light fluffy paste, 20-30 seconds. Remove the lid and add:

  • 3/4 c. plus 2 T flour
  • 3 T cornstarch

Pulse until the dough begins to clump together and the mixture is fairly uniform, 8 to 10 times. Gather the dough together into a rough ball, kneading a few times if necessary.

Shape the dough as desired into rounds (sliced from a chilled log) or press into a pan; chill. Bake in a preheated 325-degree oven until the edges are barely colored.

(I stole this recipe from Sally Schneider’s The Improvisational Cook. This book is also amazing.)

Leave a Reply

