In Which She Procrastinates Further and Feels a Bit Guilty

So, when I said I’d be putting off the blogging for a month in order to knuckle down and write a novel, I didn’t realize that blogging would be an excellent excuse to ignore the novel for a bit…

And here I am. Not working on my novel.

But the novel itself, well. 50,000 words is a lot of stinkin’ words, did you know that? I spent 4 hours (4 BLOODY HOURS) at the Black Drop this morning–that’s breakfast and lunch–and all I’ve got to show for it is 2,000 more words, a radically revised plot line and a bad stomachache.

The realization that I should be writing 2,000+ words a day hit me then, as I computed “4 hours” into “2,000 words” and felt rather like bursting into tears.

This is fun, remember? Not competitive! Fun! A raging blast, as a matter of fact!

As was inevitable, my computer shut down in the middle of a particularly burly moment of inspiration (not really: by then I was looking for an excuse to pack it in, go home and take a nap–though this was not, of course, what I had in mind), and I hurried home to try and resurrect the sick little laptop and (please, God, please) what remained of my novel.

Thankfully, the novel’s still in one piece–all 4500 words. But you know you’re getting desperate to meet the word count when you start employing elaborate “In Which He Encounters a Stranger on a Desolate Road and Engages Him in Conversation”-style chapter titles. Eh.

Also, I’ve taken to changing the background on my laptop every few minutes–another tactic for avoiding work–and it’s currently leopard print. All is well in the world.

3 thoughts on “In Which She Procrastinates Further and Feels a Bit Guilty

  1. Lord FluffyBunny

    Hey, why don’t you have one of your characters write a blog? Then you could just cut and paste. Then have another character blog about books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

